Jake LaMotta – The Boxer That Inspired “Raging Bull”

Champion Heavyweight Boxer Jake LaMotta © JoAnne Kalish

On this particular occasion I tagged along with my partner Joe DiMaggio to give him a hand filming his documentary film “In This Corner.”  I think at the time he was working with a brand new camera and was not totally comfortable with it yet.   I also wanted to meet and photograph the legendary Boxer Jake LaMotta as “Raging Bull” happens to be one of my favorite films.

He was definitely the strong character I expected.  He brought along a good looking woman he introduced as his fiance.  She and I were pretty close in age.  I liked her.  He came very early which was very unexpected and we were not even close to being set up yet.  We spent the entire afternoon filming in P.J Clarke’s a famous Saloon close to his apartment.  We had very little light in the bar, despite the fact we sat him at a window table and it was difficult working with such little light.  Jake was brutally honest in the interview, including saying some things we were very surprised at while the camera rolled.  These are some of the photos I made that day.

 

 

Photographer/Filmmaker Joe DiMaggio and Heavyweight Boxer Jake Lamotta © JoAnne Kalish

Boxer Jake LaMotta  © JoAnne Kalish

© JoAnne Kalish

© JoAnne Kalish

Leave a Reply

